Where it’s at

26 Jan

Hey Manhattanites (and fellow borough-ites)!  A friend shared this with me a few days ago…a map of the ratio of single men to single women in different neighborhoods of the NY boroughs.  Check it out – Best Neighborhoods in New York to Meet Singles.  Three observations:

(1) My neighborhood, the Upper East Side, is apparently a place where single women go to die surrounded by their cats (thank God I’m allergic to cats).

(2) I’m starting to understand recent experiences I’ve had while visiting some of the single male-dominated areas for work:

– A mystery man paying for my sandwich in a Washington Heights deli

– A shout-out (“Be-yoo-ti-ful!”) from a man on the street in the High Bridge area of the Bronx

– And my personal fave, a passing comment from a man in the Mott Haven area of the Bronx – “Hey there shorty…”

(3) Perhaps a part-time job running the Cyclone at Coney Island is in my future.

How does your nabe stack up?

 

Leave a Reply

