Ah, the innocence of youth

4 Nov

Just a quick share from last night:  I was out grabbing drinks with my roommate and her younger boyfriend (who is a great guy, btw).  We tried to round up some others and even thought a couple of them might meet up.  But, it just ended up being me, the two of them, and a guy friend of her boyfriend’s – who happens to be 24 and who was waiting for his own younger girlfriend to arrive.  “Okay,” I thought, “this isn’t the kind of night I had in mind, but who cares – it’s Thursday, we have margaritas (and mine is pomegranate hibiscus!), my roommate and her boyfriend are great, this guy is nice, and I’m sure his girlfriend will be, too.”  While waiting for his girlfriend to arrive, the 24 year-old friend (who hadn’t learned much about me at this point) says:  “Ugh, I was walking over here just now to meet you guys, and I passed a bar.  It was full of people our age, and it just looked so awful in there.  It just made me SO glad I’m not a part of the NY singles scene!  I mean, if I was single now, I’d probably end up being single for the next FIVE years – it’s horrible!”  I didn’t think that was the best time for me to say, “Hi, my name is Melissa, I’m single, and I’m 31.”

2 Responses to “Ah, the innocence of youth”

  1. Kasey November 4, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

    What this goes to show you is that a) this guy thought you were younger than you are, which is a great thing AND b) that he assumed you weren’t single because he couldn’t imagine that an amazing gal like you could possibly still be on the market!

  2. Meredith November 4, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    Awful. Those kids have no idea what it’s like. I, like Melissa, am a therapist. I can’t tell you the number of times I hear my college student clients say, “I mean, I never thought I would be 25 and SINGLE! I feel like I should just give up! I should be married with one child already.” Meanwhile, I sit across from them as a 31 year old single woman, with no kids and a pint of ice-cream as a date. But maybe we’ll be saying the same thing to 30 year olds when we are 40??

Leave a Reply

